After the enticing invitation given on her 2007 debut album Marry Me, St. Vincent (née Annie Clark) had all possible suitors rushing out in a panic to be the first to buy a copy and profess their affections. As both real beauty and extraordinary talent seems on the wane these days, Marry Me was as an unrivalled success, giving much attention to this multi-instrumentalist Tulsa, Oklahoma native.

With the resulting honeymoon from Marry Me now out of the way, the stage is set for Actor, the much anticipated follow-up due for release on May 4th by the very capable people at 4AD. Co-produced by Clark and John Congleton (Modest Mouse, Polyphonic Spree) Actor features eleven new songs, all written and arranged by Clark.

As indicated by the press release, “Actor takes the ambitious compositional and sonic underpinnings of Clark’s debut as a starting point and never looks back. The arrangements are more masterful, the songwriting grander, the performances ever more confident and inspired. Speaking for the first time about Actor, Annie Clark commented, “I wanted to make these songs technicolour animatronic rides.”

Preceding Actor will be the single “Actor Out Of Work” (out April 20th).

Layout 1

Tracklisting for Actor:

1. The Strangers
2. Save Me From What I Want
3. Neighbours
4. Actor Out Of Work
5. Black Rainbow
6. Laughing With A Mouth Of Blood
7. Marrow
8. The Bed
9. The Party
10. Just The Same But Brand New
11. The Sequel