Sonic Youth

After a year of touring as ‘Sonic Youth 1988’ for the kids that missed the Daydream Nation years, New York noiseniks and champions of those who like to beat the shit out of their guitars with screwdrivers, the almighty Sonic Youth return with their monumental 16th album, The Eternal, released through Matador Records on June 9. It will be available on ever-durable vinyl, the ever-compact disc and the wholly intangible digital album.

Produced by John Agnello and the band, The Eternal is Sonic Youth’s first studio album on an independent label (not including releases on their own SYR imprint) after ending their 18 year relationship with Geffen. Message to the majors: Corporate Rock still sucks but releasing an album though Starbucks is OK. In any case, welcome to Matador!

Recorded through November and December of last year at the band’s Echo Canyon West studio in Hoboken, NJ,  The Eternal features many firsts for a Sonic Youth album, including a number of shared vocals between Kim, Thurston, and Lee, and the studio debut of former Pavement/Dustdevils bassist Mark Ibold, a member of Sonic Youth’s touring band for the past few years.

Upcoming Sonic Youth shows include April gigs in Austria and Germany and May 16 at the No Fun Festival in Brooklyn. They will be touring throughout the summer in support of ‘The Eternal’.

Of The Eternal, Matador’s Gerard Cosloy says, “We’ve not had a record in our recent history that’s been the subject of nearly as much speculation and anticipation. Suffice to say we’re pretty amazed at the way the band delivered something this neoteric (editor’s note: neoteric is a fancy word for ‘modern’) while still sounding like, well, themselves. Less of a reinvention and perhaps more to do with a particularly awesome dozen songs.”

Track listing:cvr_sonicyouth_eternal_02-300x300

1. Sacred Trickster
2. Anti-Orgasm
3. Leaky Lifeboat(for Gregory Corso)
4. Antenna
5. What We Know
6. Calming The Snake
7. Poison Arrow
8. Malibu Gas Station
9. Thunderclap For Bobby Pyn
10. No Way
11. Walkin Blue
12. Massage The History